Author Topic: Design feedback on WiFi-controlled phototriac-based mains strobe chaser  (Read 2014 times)

Offline gsuberlandTopic starter

• Contributor
I'm looking for some feedback on a mains strobe chaser design I made. It uses Vishay VO2223 phototriacs driven from a Microchip MCP23017 IO expander, which itself is driven by a NodeMCU ESP8266 WiFi board. The bulbs I have are Bell 05495 5W LED GU10 (230V), which have since been superseded by the 6W Pro LED Classic series so I got them cheap. I've never used triacs or phototriacs before, so this is a bit of an experiment.

With the PCB design I've tried to ensure maximum isolation between the hot-side and logic-level traces, including drilled channels under the VO2223 parts, but I don't do a lot of mains-level stuff so I'm basically going on common sense and intuition here. This board design is the first revision, and for the next revision I plan to include jumpers for addressing on the MCP23017, and a daisy-chaining connector so that multiple boards can be hooked together and driven from a single NodeMCU board.

Does anyone have any feedback on the design?

(Apologies if the pictures are huge; 4K monitors spoil me for resolution real-estate)
« Last Edit: December 03, 2017, 03:32:35 pm by gsuberland »

Offline Twoflower

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Design feedback on WiFi-controlled phototriac-based mains strobe chaser
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2017, 04:17:45 pm »
Some points I noticed still it's not a complete review:
1. You somehow managed to make the C1 disappear in your layout.
2. Why the additional transistors? The MCP23017 can drive up to 25mA, the LEDs should be driven with 10mA. There's plenty of headroom.
3. You have a fuse for the 230V somewhere? Maybe there's place for it on the PCB
4. Thought about GND flooding?
5. No mounting holes (or just two). You might consider some extra with the long insulation cuts.