Author Topic: command line calculator  (Read 1609 times)

Offline rfclownTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
command line calculator
« on: July 09, 2022, 01:32:26 am »
1. I am an electrical engineer and I often want to use a calculator
2. A calculator is not always at my side (or I'm too lazy to look for it)
3. I am often at a computer when I want to use a calculator
4. I HATE every computer calculator that I have tried because... a mouse is the WORST POSSIBLE interface device for a calculator
5. I wrote a C program calculator in 2002 or so, and have used it ever since

I'm not an RPN calculator fan; I've never bought one. The calculator on my desk at the moment is a Casio fx-115ES. But a brain dead person can write a program for an RPN calculator since it puts all the burden of figuring out order of operation on the user, so that's what I did. I started it around 2002, and tweaked things in 2003. I made it so I could easily add functions. The last time I added a function was 2005, so it's been pretty useful to me as it was 17 years ago. When I first wrote it I used whatever C compiler was on my Unix workstation (at work), and used Power C (Mix Software) on my PC at home. Now I use gcc. This is one my MUST have programs when I set up a new computer. Hopefully C will be forever and I can just recompile for the rest of my life (I'm 60 years old and hopeful that C won't die).

At one point I added a thing where I could read in a list of operations from a file. Turns out I never use it. For the things I might have thought I'd use it for, I use Excel. A spreadsheet is an AWESOME tool. A calculator is an AWESOME tool. Let the quickest one for the particular problem win. A calculator with a mouse interface will always lose.