Author Topic: Circuit to help balance batteries, feedback/advice requested  (Read 1148 times)

Offline gnifTopic starter

• Administrator
  • Views and opinions are my own
    • AMD
Hi All,

I am looking to build a simple circuit to help me when I need to do my annual battery maintenance of an array of 200AH 12V AGM batteries in series. The idea is to limit the charge voltage to a threshold and then dump it into a resistive load if it exceeds a set voltage but in a gentle manner. I want to have a device for each battery, which will only be connected for the maintenance cycle.

Here is what I have come up with, however, I am not sure yet of several factors, or if this should be done differently.

What MOSFET should I use? (I am pretty new to them)
What would be the best way to generate the reference voltage and power the opamp?
My input options are 12-14V from the battery itself, or 48-60V from the battery array.
Seeing as I don't need rail to rail, would a ua741 opamp cut it for this application?

https://www.falstad.com/circuit/circuitjs.html?ctz=CQAgjCAMB0l3BWK0BsB2AnADgEwI5gMw6SFZYQKQhJU0CmAtGGAFABuIALMdyl915c4UEIXAjxYHKJgJWAQxAoEKMVgFoEMsgKzgk1MPHjhC0Qikt4ueCjjAbwOaGBSksBFCkddpa4xNWAHdlVTEUfX5qS31IEOVhCKik4mp40OixEmU0HRyMkC0dJ2Ls9NYAJ1z86jK00UC4BKzYmgwdSKgW8OFqLL7uzKTB-BlB+OqBkQH+RpNC+qcKNV1ugCUaLgE2hG2xS1luIy5oNCO5BJ5xudmBSfbO-T2drqN4Ksfj6hfv+eaAGYgFbqPRzNa8MDQQywHAJX6DLgYNQTK7Iv5ItQ4PJDbjo7EyFA4AQE3FYOak8mvOKsYQCa4Y9ETZCQHziFBncTUAEKAA2AGd6J8iSScXlqKT3gkqX8ZVw5oU5bcRgrWAAPMRI7jSY4YbVIARgQ04ABqAB1+QBBADiAFl1dw9mIMBAuGgIIQMPTwCTLQ6VOccB1lFgkEGDT6QCQAOoJcVRnEyyWsAD2jVEwgweoKsHgXlUeFEUggRg9qajRgzkCzFfAqHAYlrUlWrCAA

Thanks in advance... and be kind :)
SMTS Software Development Engineer @ AMD

Offline Ian.M

• Super Contributor
Re: Circuit to help balance batteries, feedback/advice requested
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2021, 12:00:14 pm »