Author Topic: Challenge Thread: The fastest breadboard oscillator on the mudball  (Read 62152 times)

Offline SilverSolder

• Super Contributor
Re: Challenge Thread: The fastest breadboard oscillator on the mudball
« Reply #100 on: June 12, 2020, 04:02:47 am »
22AWG solid TFE insulation swept from 2.2-2.6GHz.

I'm not good at interpreting Smith charts...  What does it mean, that the plot follows the circle?

That's fine.  There are several good videos and text materials available for free on-line if you are interested.   For now, let me just show you a simple test.   In the attached graph looking at S11, I have swept the twisted wires shown above from 2350 to 2450 MHz.   I then swept a small trimmer capacitor over that same range.

so is the twisted pair adding more capacitance, effectively, than a capacitor of the same nominal value - due to the time it takes for the wave to propagate to the end of it?

Offline herc

• Contributor
« Reply #101 on: June 12, 2020, 05:12:24 am »
no, it's called "twist oscillator", because it twists my shortwave-noob brain, trying to understand why a pair of twisted wires can act as a resonator ;-)

-----

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stub_(electronics)#Resonant_stub
Stubs are often used as resonant circuits in oscillators and distributed element filters. An open circuit stub of length l will have a capacitive impedance at low frequency when β * l < π / 2 . Above this frequency the impedance is inductive. At precisely β * l = π / 2  the stub presents a short circuit. This is qualitatively the same behaviour as a series resonant circuit.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2020, 06:25:45 am by herc »

The following users thanked this post: SilverSolder

Offline trash

• Contributor
« Reply #102 on: June 12, 2020, 12:39:45 pm »
My first attempt came up with ~1.6GHz, I was able to push it to 1.8GHz and keep the stability.

Online joeqsmith

• Super Contributor
« Reply #103 on: June 12, 2020, 03:21:04 pm »