Author Topic: DIY Scalable Bench Power Supply Design  (Read 119911 times)

Offline void_errorTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
Re: 0-20V 0-3A Bench Power Supply Design
« Reply #225 on: January 22, 2015, 08:03:50 am »
Hmm... I might as well go full discrete then, but I'll still need to 'OR' the voltage control loop with the current control loop which uses floating high-side current sensing (there's a schematic in one of my previous posts). Fortunately the current sensing circuit output is a current source so it's pretty easy to reference to ground. What I'm trying to do here is to design a version easily scalable for different output voltages and currents - just change some component values but not the PCB as I'll get 3 anyway from OSHPark.

Driving Q10 directly with the MCP6021 seemed really unstable.
Trust me, I'm NOT an engineer.

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
« Reply #226 on: January 22, 2015, 12:28:24 pm »
Nice thing about discrete is, you can plug whatever you want into it -- you can tag on another diff+VAS in parallel with the first to do exactly that, without having to worry about making decisions between op-amp outputs (and the slew rate limited decisions allowing overshoot!).

Tim
Seven Transistor Labs, LLC
Electronic design, from concept to prototype.
Bringing a project to life?  Send me a message!

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
« Reply #227 on: January 26, 2015, 09:41:38 am »
Made some progress ;D
No. of opamps used: 0 (integrated ones)
Only simulated it for 5V so far, common mode input range should include ground.
Here's the result.

V_OUT
Q4-base - actually Q5 base but I didn't bother renaming it
Q2-G
It only overshoots 0.23V - load from 1% to 100% in 1us which probably won't happen in real life.

« Last Edit: January 26, 2015, 09:46:36 am by void_error »

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
    • Seven Transistor Labs