Author Topic: Attempt at a 100 V/V gain low signal amplifier - NE5532 offset correction  (Read 77272 times)

Offline VerdefluoxTopic starter

• Contributor
Hi folks,
this is my first attempt at trying to amplify low signals (I'd start with something in the order of 100's uV).
At my direct availability I have the NE5532 (for low noise) and the OP07 (for precision) sitting around, hence I thought to combinate them. Just for trial, I've set my flat bandwidth to around 15kHz.
While trying different configurations, the easiest I could find in which I could both zeroing the offset and (I hope) maintaining a low noise has been like the following:
https://www.renesas.com/us/en/document/apn/r13an0016-reducing-offset-wideband-amplifiers
which is basically an inverting amplifier with limited BW and zeroing offset correction.
I also attached a similar schematics I came up with. Please note that I cannot evaluate extensively the performance of this circuit, since I would not build it if I already managed to amplify such low signals.
Nevertheless, my primary goal is to get a reasonable low noise, but I'm unsure regarding the OP07 offset correction. I know that the OP07 has higher noise density than the NE5532 (and with same BW means higher pp noise value), but I think I'm missing something: if the OP07 zeroes the offset (with its noise filtered and with 0 dB gain after the LP), doesn't this make the noise amplified by 101 by the NE5532 **the one of the OP07**, hence making useless the use of a low noise NE5532?
In other words: I don't understand at the NE5532 + input which noise gets then amplified, and from this I don't understand if I'm ruining the NE5532 good noise characteristics by using the OP07 **before it**.
Btw, I'm assuming that in general the signals I'm interested in are >> than the noise I'm getting from the circuit. I also performed some calculations but before proceeding further I'd like to ask if this configuration is somewhat valid.