Author Topic: AR488 Arduino-based GPIB adapter  (Read 274853 times)

Offline vindoline

• Supporter
Re: AR488 Arduino-based GPIB adapter
« Reply #150 on: July 26, 2019, 04:30:56 pm »
rhb, I agree with the above. The AR488 works very well (for me!) as a GPIB-USB adapter. One already has to use another program to "talk" to it. I think the switching, logging, etc. belongs in that code. Compared to your stated expertise in various languages, I'm a complete beginner. However, I was able to hack together* a number of Python scripts running on a Raspberry Pi that handle all of my logging needs!

-Vindoline

* With lots of help from eevblog members! Thanks!

PS: the only modification of the AR488 code I had to make was increasing the maximum time-out. I use 8 seconds in my scripts as my ancient instruments are SLOW to respond. Most of the troubleshooting I've had to do with the GPIB logging has to do with timing issues.

Offline maxwell3e10

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #151 on: July 26, 2019, 06:03:37 pm »
In principle, the ability to reprogram an Arduino on the fly using the same USB port allows one to rethink the concept of a GPIB adapter. Instead of being just a dumb protocol translator, it can now take over some of the roles typically played by a program running on the computer. It maybe advantageous in some cases, since its a real-time processor. The down side is that a program like that could become less general. Still, its an interesting direction to explore. One example (not based on AR488 code) is  https://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects/project-extending-hp3478a-functionality/
How to organize it logistically is an open question, anyone willing to invest their time can decide for themselves.

Offline rhb

• Super Contributor
« Reply #152 on: July 26, 2019, 06:39:31 pm »