Author Topic: How to layout the ground planes below a buck converter?  (Read 1179 times)

Offline MarkSTopic starter

• Supporter
How to layout the ground planes below a buck converter?
« on: January 30, 2024, 10:10:39 pm »
I've included a switching regulator in a project, just because I've never used them before and this will be a useful component to have under my belt. I followed Phil's Lab's wonderful YouTube videos on how to layout the components and that was incredibly useful, but he really didn't go over ground planes directly under the high frequency components. I figured that capacitively coupling the high frequency to ground would not be a good thing, but made that decision out of ignorance. This is a 4-layer board with the inner two layers being ground and the bottom layer being power/signal. The top layer has a small ground plane with stitching vias, although I have a vague recollection of hearing of potential EMI through capacitive coupling in microstrip layouts in a YouTube video, so this may be bad practice.

I'm using the Richtek RT8259 regulator and the component selection is an exact copy of the datasheet's typical application circuit to get a 3.3v output, plus some reverse protection components.

I've included screenshots of the top, second (third layer is the same) and bottom layers of the regulator layout. I'd love a critique and advice here.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2024, 10:14:56 pm by MarkS »

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
Re: How to layout the ground planes below a buck converter?
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2024, 10:35:26 pm »
Why would you remove ground under the switch node, exactly where it does the most good (reducing height of traces above ground, minimizing loop inductance)?