Author Topic: AD5941 Analog electrochemical sensor breakout board  (Read 1162 times)

Offline TrotsKeeperTopic starter

AD5941 Analog electrochemical sensor breakout board
« on: December 13, 2022, 06:00:15 pm »
Hello, I'm trying to make a breakout board for an electrochemical sensor [https://www.analog.com/media/en/technical-documentation/data-sheets/AD5940-5941.pdf ] in KiCAD. It's my first time making something like this and I'm not sure if its ready to be sent for PCB manufacturing. Overall idea is that this breakout board will be used to connect to an Arduino via SPI and I can collect data. I'll be only using liquids for electrochemical sensor aspect. Am I missing something ?

Offline CountChocula

• Supporter
  • I break things—sometimes on purpose.
Re: AD5941 Analog electrochemical sensor breakout board
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2022, 07:16:44 pm »
I don't know the specifics of this chip, but a few general comments:
  • I can't see in your PCB screenshot whether you have a board outline in your edge_cuts layer; without it, the manufacturer won't know how to size your board. Note that, in the absence of an outline, the 3D viz will simply display the smallest area that encompasses all the elements on the board, so that output can be deceiving!
  • You shouldn't allow silkscreening to overlap pads—here, you have text over the location where the chip needs to be soldered. I'm actually not sure what would happen if you sent this in to a fab house, but… it can't be good :)
  • There is no supporting circuitry… is this on purpose? A quick scan of the chip's datasheet reveals that, at a minimum, it requires a number of decoupling caps, which should really be on the board.
Lab is where your DMM is.

Offline Abdurrahman YAMAN

« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2022, 11:45:16 am »
Hi,

You are making basically LFCSP to DIP adapter nothing else.
If you want to use the PCB with breadboard or something, you may consider to make the PCB compatible with it.