Author Topic: 3.4V to 12V Boost Convert PCB Review  (Read 2297 times)

Offline ViiuxTopic starter

3.4V to 12V Boost Convert PCB Review
« on: November 19, 2021, 08:39:57 am »
Hi everyone,

I’m an electrical engineering college student and this is my second attempt at making a PCB. This is mostly for fun and as a learning experience.

I created a 2-layer 3.4/4.2V to 12V Boost Converter using the LM3478. I tried to follow the TI-datasheet/we-bench power designer and evaluation module datasheet/layout as best as I could.

Vin: 3.4-4.2 V
Vout: 12 V
Iout: 1 A

A few questions:
  • Every article I read about talks about return currents. I made a big ground pour on the top layer and have all my grounds connected to it. Should I instead individually route grounds?
  • I only have 2 signals on the bottom layer. Should I add a ground pour to the rest of the layer?
  • The diode recommended by WeBench Designer has Io = 2A. The diode I have in my schematic and from the evaluation board has Io = 3A. I want Iout to be 1A. I calculated that the max current to be around 3.7A. Is the diode I have, okay?
  • I calculated the inductance for the inductor to be .68uH. WeBench recommended 4.7uH and the evaluation board has 1.8uH. I picked 10uH. Is there a downside to having a bigger inductor besides space/size?

I’m still also learning Altium so if there are any best practices for PCB lay-outing or Schematics, I would appreciate any feedback/advice.

Thank you!

Offline NiHaoMike

• Super Contributor
  • "Don't turn it on - Take it apart!"
    • Facebook Page
Re: 3.4V to 12V Boost Convert PCB Review
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2021, 12:55:51 pm »
The pads should have solid connections to the rest of the board. Probably not going to make too much a difference for a 1A converter, but still good practice for power electronics.

I would also add more spots for input and output caps since you have the space, you can always leave them empty if it turns out you don't need them.