Author Topic: Open source code with absent author and no stated license - what would you do?  (Read 4656 times)

Online SiliconWizard

• Super Contributor
Interesting discussion. Yes, I was probably being not detailed enough when I said that it meant giving up the copyright altogether, but surely it is giving up some of the associated rights.

Now, this is a huge mess in itself, and whoever claims to fully understand not the concept itself (which I guess most of us do, at least here in this thread), but all the consequences, is probably a bit delusional. It's a major rabbit hole. And there are tens, if not hundreds of open-source licenses, all with subtle differences.

The fact the holder of the copyright might give their work some open-source license, and possibly change it "at will" is horrible for whoever chose to use said work based on the license that was attached to it when they made the decision. I'm no lawyer, so I don't know what exactly the copyright holder can or cannot do once they publish some work with a given license (so can the author really change the license at will at any moment?) And what about the derived work? (Forks, etc?) Any license not mentioning "perpetuity" is a time bomb.

Let alone that "open source" and "free software" are not the same thing, and while each has its own issues, "free software" tends to - while being "restrictive" in some ways - be more consistent and easier to grasp. I'm not particularly "advocating" it, I'm just saying. And I know how there is almost a "war" between the two. At least there is some serious activism there.

Offline Cerebus

• Super Contributor