Author Topic: The Station  (Read 2751 times)

Offline IriliaTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
    • My YouTube channel
Re: The Station
« Reply #25 on: September 07, 2024, 11:01:23 am »
90% of the product will be preassembled, only the through hole components will to be soldered, the  case to be assembled And the different connectors to be connected. It's destined to be assembled by a beginner.
Why even bother with 10%, then? Even as a beginner I hated “kits” where most of the work was already done. Building it is the entire point of a kit, so taking most of it away makes it pointless.

Not to mention that I 100% disagree with the mentality of “beginners shouldn’t deal with SMD”. Sure, soldering beginners shouldn’t necessarily be given 0402 resistors and 0.5mm pitch connectors and QFNs. But given that it is now completely impossible to do electronics as a hobby without dealing with SMD components — and the fact that SMD soldering isn’t as scary or difficult as a lot of people seem to think — it’s entirely reasonable to have beginners solder bigger SMD parts.

I used to work at a vocational training center. One of the courses offered was assembly, and so we had many first-year electronics apprentices learning to solder for the first time. They did both THT and SMD, first with 1206 and 0805 and SOICs (1.27mm pitch), but due to feedback from the companies who send their apprentices, we then had them do 0603 and 0402 as well as TSSOP (0.65mm pitch) and QFN. Most of the apprentices have no trouble doing them.