Author Topic: Universial Ac Dc converter circuit for small projects  (Read 22077 times)

Offline RutgerTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Universial Ac Dc converter circuit for small projects
« on: March 26, 2011, 03:58:07 pm »
Hi all, first of all thank you Dave Jones for start this excellent blog, I love it!
My background is very similar, but I ended up in the software side, but have always tinkered with electronics.
After viewing many of the video blogs I thought of a project I that I would be interested in doing but have trouble getting started and then I thought maybe other people might be also interested in this?

The project I would love to see a video blog is on is how to design a simple universal ac/dc power supply using switching technology for small projects or small applications, like input 85V to 260V ac & output in the 12 volt range and no more than 0.5 amps.

Anyhow if any of you have already done this or knows of an excellent chip to use for this project feel free to blog me back.

Thanks for reading my little message.

Rutger
« Last Edit: March 29, 2011, 04:29:39 am by Rutger »

Offline Simon

• Global Moderator
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: Universial Ac Dc converter circuit for small projects
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2011, 04:02:11 pm »
hm for powers this low there are a good range of all in one solutions from most stockists like farnell and digikey.

Their datasheets often give full details including PCB for the finished circuit.

Dave did do a blog on using the MC34063 chip (or any of it's clones)

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2011, 04:07:29 pm »
Thanks Simon, but isn't that chip a DC to DC converter?

Offline Simon

• Global Moderator
    • Simon's Electronics
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2011, 04:10:49 pm »