Author Topic: Why most people say "vendor supplied libraries are bad"?  (Read 13687 times)

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: Why most people say "vendor supplied libraries are bad"?
« Reply #75 on: June 24, 2020, 11:38:42 pm »
Yesterday i unpacked a ATSAMC21 explained pro kit to start development of a simple adapter board that is to conver/transmit I2C messages from a Sensirion SHT35 sensor and SPI data to a Can bus. So i spent about 20 hours on that and the application layer still needs to be refactored.
Without using Atmel Software Framework that wouldn't have been possible. I can tell you that i got furious yesterday when i lost about four or five hours trying to import the generated project into IAR. For the time being i gave up, because i got hard faults.

ASF, for all of its indirection and that it covers too many devices, is ultimately "reasonable." But still, figuring out how to implement a standard USB Device class that they don't support is really not Xplained in any reasonable manner. (DOxygen is NOT documentation!)

Of course the same devices in MPLAB X? Fuck that noise.

(Edit: ugggh, just checked. ASF examples in Atmel Studio 7 have links to API references and QuickStart guides and all sorts of stuff -- and Microchip shitcanned all of that stuff and the links just go to the Microchip home page.)
« Last Edit: June 24, 2020, 11:43:00 pm by Bassman59 »

Offline dietert1

• Super Contributor
    • CADT Homepage
« Reply #76 on: June 25, 2020, 05:49:59 am »
I mean this is what it is. Software work isn't fun unless you are free to follow your fantasies of self written HAL layers and the like.

Sure, if your goal is a quick and dirty project (or, heaven forbid, product), and you don't have time to do it right, then using vendor libraries may be a time saver. In my opinion, a well-engineered product practically demands the use of custom-written peripheral drivers.