Author Topic: Teensy 4.0 released  (Read 16660 times)

Offline Nominal Animal

• Super Contributor
    • My home page and email address
Re: Teensy 4.0 released
« Reply #75 on: September 16, 2019, 07:16:50 am »
I made the first 1060/1064 designs almost 7 months ago, and there were UM and datasheets freely available on NXP site.
I glossed over the details, it seems.  See this message on the PJRC forum.

Essentially, the security manual was/is under NDA, but the datasheet and user manual were accessible from NXP if one registers there.  PJRC put the PDFs as freely downloadable from the PJRC.com site, but Paul notes that NXP may demand they take it down.

(No way in hell would I register at NXP for just the datasheet and/or manual for this chip, BTW.  The dev board isn't that impressive.  Remember, I am not a board developer, but a dev board user.)

Also the SDK has been around for longer than that I think ?
The SDK is useless to anyone not using NXP's hardware abstraction, especially if it has a no reverse-engineering clause (that is binding to PJRC, because of their agreements with NXP).  Remember, Teensyduino provides its own HAL for Arduino environment; the NXP SDK is not used.

Or are you seriously suggesting that us users should reverse-engineer their SDK instead of the chip manufacturer providing datasheets publicly, without registration/agreement?

Offline cgroen

• Supporter
    • Carstens personal web
« Reply #76 on: September 16, 2019, 07:34:34 am »
I made the first 1060/1064 designs almost 7 months ago, and there were UM and datasheets freely available on NXP site.
I glossed over the details, it seems.  See this message on the PJRC forum.

Essentially, the security manual was/is under NDA, but the datasheet and user manual were accessible from NXP if one registers there.  PJRC put the PDFs as freely downloadable from the PJRC.com site, but Paul notes that NXP may demand they take it down.