Author Topic: Lattice Diamond - Empty Constraint File, no inputs in ECO  (Read 2179 times)

Offline DawidTopic starter

• Contributor
Lattice Diamond - Empty Constraint File, no inputs in ECO
« on: June 08, 2017, 12:00:30 pm »
Hi,

I just started with Lattice Diamond and MachXO3. I have following problem:
- how to assign my inputs to the pins? my constraint file which should contain is empty, there is just:

Code: [Select]
BLOCK RESETPATHS ;
BLOCK ASYNCPATHS ;

- my ECO file contains outputs but there are no inputs
- in the Spreadsheet View the Input category is empty, inputs are in: Others->unconnected

I have seen somewhere that the constraint file is generated automatically from the Spreadsheet and ECO. I also cannot move the inputs between groups in Spreadsheet (if this is possible, I don't know) neither assign those to the pins (I can choose only between outputs).

My question is: what am I doing wrong? I am completely new in FPGA and I have no idea how use that IDE (Lattice manuals are mainly useless IMHO)

Offline DawidTopic starter

• Contributor
Ok, after a few tries I found that an input is not available in Spreadsheet View/ECO if it is not assigned to anything...

Maybe it will help somebody.

Another question:

where do you look for support if case of problems with Lattice devices?

Offline ale500

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Lattice Diamond - Empty Constraint File, no inputs in ECO
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2017, 04:28:34 am »
where do you look for support if case of problems with Lattice devices?

Online ? Seriously. I assume that there are enough people doing something with the same devices that they may have had the same issue, let's say you get some cryptic error message, I look on the synplify manual and if that doesn't help, happens, I just google it. YOu may not get a direct answer but a starting point to discover what could be happening. Sometimes I post here :)