Author Topic: Mircro-controller designs to generate nano second pulses with variable delay.  (Read 1197 times)

Offline fractonTopic starter

• Contributor
For another project, I am trying to build a controller circuit that can generate four 50ns second pulses with variable delay upon receiving a TTL pulse as a trigger (with a repetition rate of 10Hz). While I have a low duty cycle application, I was hoping to build something that could operate atleast at a kHz repitition rates. I am considering to use Teensy4.1 for this application, I am guessing just counting for CPU clock cycles to give out pulses on the output pins should work. However, I am a beginner and have lilttle to no experience with microcontrollers. Would appreciate any help for any useful comments.

Offline Andy Chee

• Super Contributor
Can you sketch out a few example timing waveforms?

Or even better, please provide the datasheet of the thing you are trying to control!

Offline JPortici

• Super Contributor
I'm a bit unsure about the 50ns, but you *should* be able to do it with a dsPIC33CK high speed PWM. You also have a retriggerable mode with a retriggerable counter, so you can generate up to 7 pulses after a trigger

Offline pcprogrammer

• Super Contributor
There are of course many solutions to your problem, but using hardware timers that are available in many MCU's will make it more robust than counting CPU cycles. The nano seconds timing you like limits things to MCU's that can run on higher frequencies.

The Teensy 4.1 certainly falls in this category and has timer peripherals that can create the pulses and the delays you need. The software only has to write the registers to set the durations. Get yourself the datasheet and reference manual to find out more about the capabilities of this MCU. To get the reference manual you have to create an account at NXP though.

Offline Siwastaja

• Super Contributor