Author Topic: Is ST Cube IDE a piece of buggy crap?  (Read 211779 times)

Silenos, gpr, rhodges and 17 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: Is ST Cube IDE a piece of buggy crap?
« Reply #325 on: February 06, 2022, 11:13:46 pm »
Now do some code for transmitting data.

The interrupt may be generated only when the TX becomes empty. So you have to put a byte into it "manually" to get things started.

It gets a bit more involved.

The old trick is to put the stuff to transmit into a FIFO, and then check to see if a transfer is already in process by checking a status flag. If not, then the transmit is kicked off by setting the transmit-complete bit to trigger its associated interrupt. In the ISR, you check to see if the transmit FIFO has something to send, and if so, pop the FIFO and write the byte to the transmitter.

Which I suppose is "a bit involved."

Offline cv007

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #326 on: February 07, 2022, 12:28:10 am »
I have some basic code for an stm32 in C++. Getting something up and running on your own is a good way to get a feel for a particular mcu. It usually starts with getting some gpio code working, then continues from there as far as you want to take it.

https://github.com/cv007/NUCLEO_G031K8
https://github.com/cv007/NUCLEO32_G031K8_B