Author Topic: reading digital caliper data port, interrupts and millis()?  (Read 1442 times)

Offline dentakuTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
reading digital caliper data port, interrupts and millis()?
« on: October 08, 2017, 12:39:01 am »
I added a connector to my cheap Chinese Mastercraft calipers. The data looks good when I view it on my scope and I can understand it just fine. There's a Ground, Clock, Data and 1.5V pin.
It sends out data 4 bits at a time with a small gap between each 4 bit chunk (nibble) 6 times so it sends out 24 bits then a long 120ms gap then another 24 bits, all LSB first. bit 21 defines whether it's a negative number or not.

Lots of people have written about this and this site has images that match what mine sends out.
http://nut-bolt.nl/2012/reading-digital-calipers-with-an-arduino/

I like that the code on this site uses interrupts because it seems logical for this type of application. I've never used interrupts before and this looked like a good way to learn about the topic.

I built a simple circuit with two NPNs to shift the 1.5V signal closer to 5V so an Arduino can read it but then realized that this code looks like it was written for a signal that's NOT inverted, unlike what I've seen from other websites. I simply used a 40106 to invert the already level shifted Clock and Data and now it looks exactly like the screenshots on that website.

QUESTIONS:
The code on the site doesn't declare any variables so it's up to you to decide where to put them (the scope), which types are appropriate, which ones need to be volatile and which should be global.
Can anyone give me advice on this?

millis() is supposedly an unsigned long so it seems that lastInterrupt and now should also be?

Also... on arduino.cc it says
Note