Author Topic: Checking pic16f877 and Atmega32A  (Read 2873 times)

Offline VSV_electronTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Checking pic16f877 and Atmega32A
« on: October 20, 2022, 08:09:38 pm »
Hello,

I ordered a few MCUs, couple pic16f877 and Atmega32A of each and a few more, all 40 pin DIP.
The programmers/dev boards should arrive in a month but I need to check that the MCU units are at least not completely defunct.
Please suggest me a minimal setup and procedure to check the MCU units without writing/reading them. Just to confirm they are at least potentially functional.

What I've got at the moment: a Rigol 2-channel scope, a multimeter, a breadboard, some passive and semi components, Lab power supply.

I'm just re-starting the hobby. I don't have much experience but over 30 years ago I soldered/assembled and set-up a ZX-Spectrum Z80 computer kit using basic equipment such as a scope and multimeter. I had a formal education in digital electronics but I have very little experience with MCUs and electronics in general as I never worked in the field.

Offline MikeK

• Super Contributor
Re: Checking pic16f877 and Atmega32A
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2022, 09:08:43 pm »
I don't know about the ATmega, but the PIC will boot up with its pins as inputs.  That is, the pins will be high impedance, not outputing a low nor a high...they won't be sourcing or sinking current.

"Testing" them without programming them seems odd, though.  Also the 16F877 is quite old now...modern PIC's are better in every way, unless this is an issue of availability.

Offline jpanhalt

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2022, 09:38:29 pm »
With the PIC's you can check that the system clock is running.  That is very few Assembly instructions using a standard startup.  Don't know about Atmega, but suspect  it is not much different.  If you are worried about counterfeit chips, why did you buy from an unreliable source?  Presumably, even a counterfeit will have an oscillator.