Author Topic: USA CAl Club: Round 3 suggestions  (Read 15700 times)

Offline bitseeker

• Super Contributor
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: USA CAl Club: Round 3 suggestions
« Reply #75 on: August 14, 2019, 12:06:22 am »
That sounds like plenty of temperature history, but I'm no expert.
TEA is the way. | TEA Time channel

Offline zekeymonkey

« Reply #76 on: August 14, 2019, 12:13:11 pm »
It's got around 15 KB of FRAM so we could comfortably store a 4 byte time, 2 byte temperature and 2 byte humidity once a minute to FRAM and then once a day copy the FRAM contents to an external flash memory device.  A 32 MB device would store almost 8 years of data.

Looking at the pictures of the packaging, it's hard to believe the thermal time constant of package would be anywhere near as fast as 1 minute. For logging shipping temperatures, once a minute is probably excessive, but having the extra data can't hurt. If the same measurement is used during reference measurement, faster data may be useful.

Of course, when you're talking about tracking the temperature and humidity over such a long period of time and varying conditions, drift of the sensors may become of concern depending on the accuracy desired.

Offline rhbTopic starter

• Super Contributor
« Reply #77 on: August 14, 2019, 02:08:35 pm »
For reference environmental history, 1 minute is more than needed in most cases.  But a package sitting in bright sunlight on a hot day in Texas will get warm very quickly.

For data collection I plan a different solution.  This is *just* for long term monitoring of references.  If someone will do a dedicated board once I have a working prototype, I'd like to mount a dedicated logger on each reference.

For the measurements it's very desirable that all the readings are taken at the same time via a GPIB group trigger event.  So integrating time, temperature and humidity into a GPIB-USB or GPIB-LAN  interface is very desirable.