Author Topic: Repair worklog : Old rusty HP 3458A  (Read 252916 times)

Offline TheSteve

• Supporter
  • Living the Dream
Re: Repair : Old rusty HP 3458A
« Reply #325 on: November 15, 2015, 07:45:25 am »
My new 'baby' arrived, all intact form the travels. Clean on the outside, under a ~2009 calibration seal, the inside looks like someone had smoked near it, lots of really fine black dust esp near the fan, unfortunately that is also close to the voltage reference. It had a known NVRAM failure (replacements arriving soon I hope) but also showed an ACAL AC required warning, (photo1) on first ACAL ALL , showed a new ?downslope error fault ( didn't photograph) but thought all that smoke wouldn't be good. After 2-3hours of cleaning with static protection, and re do ACAL AC it has resolved. Still need new NVRAM.

What programs do you guys use to 'talk' to your 3458, I have a Prologic GPIB-USB and Win XP PC? (PS I am not a good programmer!!!!!)
I want a good copy of the cal data before I change even the non CAL RAM.

That fine black dust has been inside every piece of test gear I have purchased that was used in any kind of industrial environment. I don't think it has anything to do with smoking(you'd smell it if it was). The stuff is generally pretty sticky, I've had some luck removing it with a 3M static safe vacuum but in extreme cases it requires compressed air which is not ESD safe.
VE7FM

Offline TiNTopic starter

• Super Contributor
    • xDevs.com
« Reply #326 on: November 15, 2015, 08:14:25 am »
ew ?downslope error fault ( didn't photograph)
Auch, hope it would not haunt your unit back later.

Keep us posted! Hope your repair would be easier than mine  ^-^
YouTube | Metrology IRC Chat room | Let's share T&M documentation? Upload! No upload limits for firmwares, photos, files.

Offline bingo600

• Super Contributor
« Reply #327 on: November 15, 2015, 08:45:51 am »