Author Topic: Pt100 sensor precision / accuracy question , batch sample selection .  (Read 2423 times)

Offline OverspeedTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Hello

I have a question regarding Pt100 as the cost vary from few Euro / USD to $$$$$$

Does the Pt100 are sorted to select the best one in a batch ( linearity ?) or does there is other requirements ? I am not an expert in variable resistor

My goal is to built some '' accurate '' probes ( I have no problem with the mechanical parts ) 4 wires to connect to my ASL thermometers but also to my HP 34970A data loger

I have equipment as a triple point water , calibration furnace , calibrator ...

I plan to sort some for temp from 0 to 100 C

Regards
OS
« Last Edit: June 13, 2024, 05:34:15 pm by Overspeed »

Offline EC8010

• Regular Contributor
Yes, PT100 vary from affordable to expensive. I've used them a lot. Measuring temperature is much harder than it seems because there's always a thermal resistance between the part whose temperature you want to measure and your sensor. Combined with the thermal mass of your sensor, that makes things tricky. I use the smallest PT100 I've been able to find from Farnell: 219-1840 and I glue them with a thin film of epoxy to whatever I need to measure, so they have to be regarded as disposable. I think the manufacturing tolerance is +/-1C, which is often good enough. Usually, what is required is repeatability and resolution. But it sounds as though you're capable of calibrating your probes if necessary.