Author Topic: Recently fixed Agilent 34401A resistor and Diode parts, Cal now ?  (Read 304 times)

Offline The_Spectrum.A_idiotTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Dear All ,

I am quite new to these waters so I kindly ask you to bare with me, thank you in advance.

After a long battle fixing an Ebay Agilent 34401A with a bubble on the PCB I need to test it before sending it off to calibration.

I would like to know what would/could be a good way to test all of its functions before being disappointed like failing the cal?

Precision resistors ?

Lastly another question about calibration labs.

In case the instrument is out of specs do they use the menu to calibrate whatever it's currently reading ( wrong ) with the proper value of their calibrated standard?

OR just provide you with a deviation factor and live with it ?

Because the later was the answer I got form a cert lab. That its not in their scope to actually run calibration on the instrument but rather test it against their own standards and provide a deviation / certificate of partial or full compliance.

Let me know if I should ask for something else from them OR look for another cal lab that can do this( in case it's needed nonetheless)

Thank you in advance for your time and support ,

The Spectrum.

Offline mendip_discovery

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Recently fixed Agilent 34401A resistor and Diode parts, Cal now ?
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2024, 04:58:19 pm »
A location would help. I know a few labs in the UK that would adjust if it's out of spec.

Motorcyclist, Nerd, and I work in a Calibration Lab :-)
--
So everyone is clear, Calibration = Taking Measurement against a known source, Verification = Checking Calibration against Specification, Adjustment = Adjusting the unit to be within specifications.

Offline The_Spectrum.A_idiotTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Re: Recently fixed Agilent 34401A resistor and Diode parts, Cal now ?
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2024, 06:08:27 pm »