Author Topic: Huge increase in JLCPCB CNC prices  (Read 2559 times)

Offline j_omegaTopic starter

• Contributor
Huge increase in JLCPCB CNC prices
« on: June 18, 2024, 05:22:25 am »
Has anyone else noticed that the new automatic quoting system for JLCPCB CNC services has lead to a huge increase in prices? The most significant was my most recent quote. The same part which was manually quoted for $219 for 50 pieces in April is now automatically quoted for $385 for 20 pieces in June. I guess I'm taking this work back to my local machine shop...

Offline rx8pilot

• Super Contributor
  • If you want more money, be more valuable.
Re: Huge increase in JLCPCB CNC prices
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2024, 05:33:45 am »
I have been machining for about 20 years. From simple to very complex.

The high price is still VERY low. I wouldn't even return your email if you sent that model and asked for 50pcs for that price. I am particularly quick and efficient relative to most of the industry which allows me to be rather aggressive on pricing. Still, I won't even bother to compete on price with Chinese shops.

I can be faster. I can be more accurate. I can even help you optimize your design for manufacturing. I just can't with the hilarious Chinese pricing.
Factory400 - the worlds smallest factory. https://www.youtube.com/c/Factory400

The following users thanked this post: Smokey, thm_w, ajb, bugrobotics, abeyer, cearlobe

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2024, 06:40:06 am »
So it appears that if you order a quantity greater than 25, this will trigger a manual review which brings back the old pricing. I would guess that either
1) The automatic quoting tool isn't doing a good job, or
2) JLC is looking to increase its margins on lower-volume orders.

Either way, that solves the problem for me.
« Last Edit: June 18, 2024, 06:52:48 am by j_omega »

Offline loki42

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2024, 01:37:33 pm »