Author Topic: Understanding Entry Level Scopes? (Limitations & Uses)  (Read 41520 times)

Offline Binaryb3nTopic starter

• Contributor
Understanding Entry Level Scopes? (Limitations & Uses)
« on: August 07, 2016, 04:50:15 pm »
Hello, I'm fairly new to electronics and I've posted in the general section about my proposed list of tools I want to buy. I thought I would start a different thread regarding scopes though, as I have more technical questions about them.

The first reply to the before mentioned thread said I'm probably not going to get far without a scope when it comes to embedded electronic projects, and I would like to focus on getting one anyway - especially for decoding various protocols and debugging circuits. The question I suppose is, how much scope does one need? And how do you work that out?

The default recommendation seems to be the Rigol DS1054Z with the hack to make it 100MHz. Additionally, It was both the suggested scope in the other thread and the one I have been looking at anyway. I've also been looking at the Siglent ones, but I'll be the first to admit I don't know a lot about what I am looking for.

If you were only going to buy one digital scope, would it be the DS1054Z, or would you be looking at a more expensive 2000 series, or even another brand? What sort of projects/debugging would the DS1054Z struggle to be useful for? I.e., what are the limitations in an applicable/relatable sense (what can't I do with a DS1054Z)? As mentioned in the other post, I am seeking to buy tools that I will buy once and use for the next 10-15 years without wanting for much more. It's okay if I don't get to use the full functionality straight away, I would prefer that features I will need within the next 24 months are there when I need them though.