Author Topic: Test Equipment Anonymous (TEA) group therapy thread  (Read 16989983 times)

ch_scr, stevebyan and 51 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Vince

• Super Contributor
Re: Test Equipment Anonymous (TEA) group therapy thread
« Reply #95350 on: July 23, 2021, 09:16:29 pm »
Wow...why do I sense a strong dislike of M. Carlson ?!

Did I miss something ??  I am very new to TEA so it's more than likely that  I did ?

Been following him for a few years now, it's thanks to him that I learned the basics about tubes (young enough not to have never been taught them or exposed to them as a student...) and eventually felt confident enough one day, that I though OK let's get an old Tube Tek, I feel I know enough not to electrocute myself and understand enough of the schematics that I might stand a chance of fixing one of these beasts.... and it worked ! I bought a little type 317 and managed to fix its numerous problems, now works like a champ.

Only things I don't like about him is the constant HV security warning 10 times per video.... hey in Europe we have 400V DC in each every consumer piece of gear thanks to SMPS everywhere... does that mean we need a warning every time we want to fix a 5 Euro USB charger ?!  :o

Don't like either his constant "if you want to learn more about this mysterious marvelous secret ultra sensitive capacitor leakage tester of mine, just join/pay for Patreon !! ".  Yikes... are you doing your YT videos merely as a teaser to get paying "customers" because you are bored of your day job and want a full time career on-line ?! Nothing wrong with that, but please state so explicitly, be honest about it....

But well, no channel / people is perfect, so that doesn't keep me from enjoying what's on offer and what there is for me to learn.
Plus you don't have to watch each and every video... it's easy just to no click the "Play" button...