Author Topic: SDS5034X vs SDS2104X Plus  (Read 1983 times)

Offline SuecoTopic starter

• Contributor
SDS5034X vs SDS2104X Plus
« on: September 27, 2023, 12:24:03 pm »
Hi,

After 20 years as a professional designer I would like to finally have a "proper" oscilloscope, with LA and AWG. I work mostly designing industrial controllers and power inverters, so entry level scopes have been enough, even though with no few struggles. At the moment I use a Rigol DS1054z which is by far the best I ever had, so you can imagine that almost anything will be an improvement for me. The MSO5074 has excellent value for money, given that's now on offer here at 750€, however its low maximum bandwidth and other caveats have made me steer into either the SDS5034X or SDS2104X Plus. I know the fancy stuff is going towards 12bits, however if I really require that degree of dynamic range I guess I'd get something like a DHO800 or DHO900 in the future.

The question is that the SDS5034X is more than twice the price of the SDS2104X, and comparing both fully upgraded the differences aren't so big, since the former might be able to reach a BW of over 750MHz and the latter might get stuck on 500MHz if I got my info right, however the sample rate is noticeable higher in the SDS5034X and I guess the overall build quality will also be better. So my question is, and I'm aware I'm asking a subjective question expecting an objective answer, is the SDS5034X worth it the money compared to the SDS2104X Plus?

To try to have some objective criteria, I'd consider worth the investment if it outperforms the newer model in every or most specs, like bandwidth, sample rate with all channels on, LA sample rate, memory depth, etc... Otherwise I'd stick with the cheaper alternative. I've checked most of the specs and it doesn't look like the SDS5034X is a clear winner, however also taking into account the general feel, responsiveness and firmware stability, then maybe it's worth its price.