Author Topic: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply  (Read 412215 times)

Tjuurko and 16 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline UniSoft

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 282
  • Country: kz
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #500 on: January 04, 2021, 08:44:54 am »
Feature Request:
WiFi Settings
Manual editing all WiFi related settings would be very nice.
There are no WiFi settings (except of IP of the server side... PC, Android, iPhone)...
WiFi SSID and Password stored inside WiFi module, and do not figure out in RD firmware.

I have never worked with these modules before.
Maybe someone already worked and have experience, and can advise something.
I can show what is doing RD (simplified code)
Code: [Select]
void WIFI_Config(void)
{
  // Reset the module
  send("AT+RST\r\n");

  // Disable echo (Doesn’t send back received command)
  send("ATE0\r\n");

  if (WIFIConfigured)
  {
    // Get information about connection.
    send("AT+CIPSTATUS\r\n");
    // waiting for reply "STATUS:2" -
  }
  else
  {
    // Sets the Default Wi-Fi mode; Configuration Saved in the Flash (WiFi module)
    //    1: Station mode
    //    2: SoftAP mode
    //    3: SoftAP+Station mode
    // Note: The configuration changes will be saved in the system parameter area in the flash (WiFi module).
    send("AT+CWMODE_DEF=1\r\n");

    // Auto-Connects to the AP or Not
    //    0: does NOT auto-connect to AP on power-up.
    //    1: connects to AP automatically on power-up.
    // Note: The configuration changes will be saved in the system parameter area in the flash (WiFi module).
    send("AT+CWAUTOCONN=1\r\n");

    // Starts SmartConfig
    //    1: ESP-TOUCH
    //    2: AirKiss
    //    3: ESP-TOUCH+AirKiss
    send("AT+CWSTARTSMART=3\r\n");

    // get reply
    // smartconfig type ESPTOUCH\r\n
    // Smart get wifi info\r\n
    // ssid:RD6006\r\n
    // password:192.168.1.4\r\n
    // WIFI DISCONNECT\r\n

    //=== save password/IP in RD FRAM ===
    ServerIP = reply_extract("password:")
 
    // Stops SmartConfig
    send("AT+CWSTOPSMART\r\n");

    WIFIConfigured = true;
  }

  // Set transfer mode,normal or transparent transmission.
  //   0: normal mode
  //   1: unvarnished transmission mode
  send("AT+CIPMODE=1\r\n");

  // Start a connection as client. (Single connection mode)
  // AT+CIPSTART=type,addr,port
  //    type: String, “TCP” or “UDP”
  //    addr: String, remote IP
  //    port: String, remote port
  // reply:
  //    WIFI CONNECTED\r\n
  send("AT+CIPSTART=\"TCP\",\"%s\",8080\r\n", ServerIP);
  // waiting for "WIFI CONNECTED\r\n"

  // Send data. For unvarnished transmission mode.
  // Unvarnished Transmission Mode
  //    Wrap return “>” after execute command.
  //    Enters unvarnished transmission, 20ms interval between each packet,
  //    maximum 2048 bytes per packet.
  send("AT+CIPSEND\r\n");
}
« Last Edit: January 04, 2021, 10:17:42 am by UniSoft »
 
The following users thanked this post: Cliff Matthews, empeka, AaronR

Offline BlueTronic

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
  • Country: at
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #501 on: January 04, 2021, 05:05:23 pm »
Hi Everyone

@UniSoft

New option "ISET > OCP+200" allows to set I-SET higher than OCP+0.2A, to activate option enter pass: 11235

I doesn´t understand the benefit from this option, can you please tell me more about this option or an example for better understanding.
Maybe the beta version doesn´t work correctlyt for the RD6012?!

Quote
UVP

The undervolt protection, is it for the input voltage? Do you use the OP AMP LM321 for the "UVP"?
I try different scenarios, but the UVP doesn´t occur on my RD6012. Can you please enlighten me.

In status bar added few options to display RAW ADC values (oversampled and averaged)
To convert it to the voltage/current:
Vout = ADC(V) * backVoltageScale / 100000 - backVoltageZero
Iout = ADC(I) * backCurrentScale / 100000 - backCurrentZero[/li][/list]

I like it, but I think it is to much information in the status bar (not interesting for a "normal" user).
Maybe you can put an option in the menu, where the user can activate this option to display the RAW ADC values in the status bar.

 
The following users thanked this post: AaronR

Offline UniSoft

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 282
  • Country: kz
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #502 on: January 04, 2021, 06:06:15 pm »
I doesn´t understand the benefit from this option, can you please tell me more about this option or an example for better understanding.
For example:
If you set: I-SET=3A and OCP=0.7A
But really it will not be 3A as you expect (and as you see on display), it will be restricted by OCP+0.2A, i.e. I-SET=0.9A (instead of expected 3A!).
Software protection working slow, so developers made some restrictions.
Code: [Select]
uint32_t voltage = MIN(g_VoltageSet, g_OVP + 20); // 20 = 200mV
uint32_t current = MIN(g_CurrentSet, g_OCP + 20); // 20 = 200mA
SetVoltageAndCurrent(voltage, current);
In this case you can get some troubles with pulses load (or big capacitors, etc...).
It is better to see on screenshot:

So, option "ISET > OCP+200" allows to disable that restriction.

UVP The undervolt protection, is it for the input voltage?
If the output voltage drops below UVP, the output will shut off.

Do you use the OP AMP LM321 for the "UVP"?
No, I don't use that (same not used in stock firmware).
« Last Edit: January 30, 2023, 05:06:49 pm by UniSoft »
 
The following users thanked this post: BlueTronic

Offline bateau020

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 257
  • Country: fr
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #503 on: January 04, 2021, 06:49:08 pm »
There are no WiFi settings (except of IP of the server side... PC, Android, iPhone)...
WiFi SSID and Password stored inside WiFi module, and do not figure out in RD firmware.

I have never worked with these modules before.
Maybe someone already worked and have experience, and can advise something.
I can show what is doing RD (simplified code)

For the AT commands: see https://www.espressif.com/sites/default/files/documentation/4a-esp8266_at_instruction_set_en.pdf
Using
Code: [Select]
AT+CWJAP_DEF one should be able to set the AP SSID and password.
And I would strongly suggest to also use
Code: [Select]
send("AT+CIPSTART=\"TCP\",\"%s\",8080\r\n", ServerIP); to set the target IP address. It is such a hassle to change the target IP address via the app.

(side remark: the AT command set is rather rich, and one can even modify the command set. Or do like most other people do: use their own software, but I think that would be a step too far now, as it would require new clients as well.)
 
The following users thanked this post: GeminiServer, AaronR

Offline Thermionix

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: au
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #504 on: January 08, 2021, 01:00:51 am »
As mentioned by nikitasius and Tatanka1961 a toroidal and good caps is not 2020, but still powerfull and noiseless.
Used an 2x45V / 11.11A transformer, 50A bridge and 2x8200uF.

Did you implement anything to deal with inrush current?
 

Offline Pukker

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 151
  • Country: nl
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #505 on: January 08, 2021, 07:47:24 am »
As mentioned by nikitasius and Tatanka1961 a toroidal and good caps is not 2020, but still powerfull and noiseless.
Used an 2x45V / 11.11A transformer, 50A bridge and 2x8200uF.

Did you implement anything to deal with inrush current?

No, I've been lazy, didn't anything to limit inrush current.
Fused with 5A slow.
Have to say that an powerfull NTC may be an option.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2021, 07:49:58 am by Pukker »
 

Offline ManiTo

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: de
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #506 on: January 11, 2021, 09:26:11 am »
Great firmware, UniSoft !

i've seen various pictures but still unsure about this question:
can the max. output current be adjusted in 1 mA steps with the 6012, and if yes, how do i do this?
at the moment with the UniSoft firmware RD60121_V1.31.6k i find smallest steps are 10mA.

if not possible, will it work with a 6018, or only with the 6006?
 
 

Offline AaronR

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 37
  • Country: us
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #507 on: January 11, 2021, 04:10:11 pm »
Hello UniSoft
I'm loving the new Beta for the 6018W
Is there anyway to  extend the RD6018 I-set value beyond 18.1 amps?
I'm using 13.8 volts so I should be able to get away with 20 amps and stay well within the max power limits (under 300 watts).
Is it possible we could have the option with a 11235 code (permission to blow up my own stuff) or similar? 
I'm also wondering if anyone has successfully connected the desktop software by wifi rather then USB?
I can connect with the apk no problem, turned off wmm in the router, running DDwrt.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2021, 09:21:47 pm by AaronR »
 

Offline sotos

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 257
  • Country: gr
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #508 on: January 11, 2021, 05:48:49 pm »
Hello friends.

Very nice to meet you. I am a noob and bought my Riden RD6006. Please if somebody can tell me in plain words how can I upgrade the firmware that Unisoft has modified.

Thank you in advance.
 

Offline Cliff Matthews

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1911
  • Country: ca
    • General Repair and Support
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #509 on: January 11, 2021, 08:00:40 pm »
Hello friends.

Very nice to meet you. I am a noob and bought my Riden RD6006. Please if somebody can tell me in plain words how can I upgrade the firmware that Unisoft has modified.

Thank you in advance.
Welcome! Maybe start reading here https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/ruideng-riden-rd6006-dc-power-supply/msg3104528/#msg3104528
 
The following users thanked this post: sotos

Offline UniSoft

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 282
  • Country: kz
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #510 on: January 12, 2021, 06:45:36 am »
...output current be adjusted in 1 mA steps with the 6012, and if yes, how do i do this?
You cannot, due to hardware limitations.
 

Offline UniSoft

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 282
  • Country: kz
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #511 on: January 12, 2021, 06:52:13 am »
Is there anyway to  extend the RD6018 I-set value beyond 18.1 amps?
I will not change the limits set by the developers.
 

Offline AaronR

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 37
  • Country: us
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #512 on: January 12, 2021, 07:27:19 am »
OK thank you, I respect your boundaries.  I'll keep a lookout for the 6024 hopefully on sale.
Great work thanks, I've found your added functions to be pretty intuitive from an engineers perspective.
Thank you again.
I'm wondering if I connect to serial port and go back to your beginning posts I may find the setting myself?
 

Offline ManiTo

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: de
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #513 on: January 12, 2021, 01:59:39 pm »
...output current be adjusted in 1 mA steps with the 6012, and if yes, how do i do this?
You cannot, due to hardware limitations.

can the 6018 set 1mA steps?
 

Offline AaronR

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 37
  • Country: us
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #514 on: January 12, 2021, 08:44:10 pm »
To get the desktop app to work over a wired network connection is fiddly but doable.

First you have to set the PSU up as per the limited instructions using the mobile app. Be warned its buggy...

It looks like the PSU sets up a hidden WiFi access point. You configure the mobile app with your network name and password of your router and then let it connect to the PSU to pass the login information. You must have location services switched on or the app will crash on an iOS device

the IP address which the app uses is the IP address of the device you are working from. The PSU seems to uses this IP address to make a connection "to" the application

Once the information has been passed, it looks like the PSU then sets up a connection to your router and waits for the App to connect to it (No idea why it needs IP address of your mobile device)

The mobile device should now connect and work nicely.

Now, if you want your desktop application to connect to the PSU, switch off your mobile device and change the IP address of your desktop to that which the mobile device was using before you switched it off  and hey presto, the desktop app now connects to the PSU using the wired network connection.

If anyone from RIDEN is reading this, PLEEEEEASE look at this and change the setup to allow easy connection from a wired desktop device!!!

And please, if anyone knows another way, please share

Dave

I'm still unable to connect can anyone give me some clues to get the desktop app to connect.
Specifically this part?
"change the IP address of your desktop to that which the mobile device was using before you switched it off "
« Last Edit: January 12, 2021, 08:46:25 pm by AaronR »
 

Offline empeka

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: pl
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #515 on: January 12, 2021, 10:38:34 pm »
I've spent much too much time trying to connect windows application.
first problem was that application binds to the wrong interface (virtualbox bridge, hyper-v ethernet... just about anything but wifi) so i had to manualy disable every configured interface except WiFi.
Next thing is to create custom firewall rule to allow incoming traffic, tcp:8080.
With above steps I've managed to configure riden module to connect to my network (ssid and password seem to be broadcasted somehow using esp-touch/airkiss protocol, which I'm too lazy to read about) and receive configuration from DHCP. It even connected to port 8080 of my computer but nothing but tcp handshake is sent, so windows app keeps saying that no device is connected.
At this point i was too frustrated to dig into this issue more. I think that something at pairing stage fails leaving device only partialy configured.
If that's true, possible workaround is to configure it using mobile phone and manually change set serverip later somehow.

Anyway, i think that current wifi implementation is too uncomfortable to use and unnecessary increases boot time,  so I'm considering switching to esp-link or some custom "serial over tcp" code.
 
The following users thanked this post: trazor, AaronR

Offline AaronR

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 37
  • Country: us
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #516 on: January 14, 2021, 02:36:01 am »
I was able to get the desktop software to work fine after jumping through the hoops listed above.
I have to connect with my android phone and then turn off the phone WiFi, assign the same IP given to the android phone by my router dhcp to my desktop in network adapter settings.
Then the desktop software connects just fine. I love not having to have the USB connection in my case WiFi is much more convenient.
If I only had to do all of this once it would be no issue but the RD6018W doesn't remember any WiFi settings, they start from scratch on every start up.
I looked at some info on the ESP-12F/ESP8266 and it's an impressive little module, the code is beyond my simple analog mind.

If anyone can think of a way to get WiFi to work with the windows app with less steps or even have any thoughts about this I would like to hear what others think.
Perhaps most people don't feel it's worth pursuing but I paid extra albeit not much, for the ability to not have the cable running across the room to my desktop.
Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2021, 03:28:17 am by AaronR »
 

Offline bateau020

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 257
  • Country: fr
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #517 on: January 14, 2021, 06:12:19 am »
If anyone can think of a way to get WiFi to work with the windows app with less steps or even have any thoughts about this I would like to hear what others think.
It is possible. See my message above:
Using
Code: [Select]
AT+CWJAP_DEF one should be able to set the AP SSID and password.

In fact, it is
Code: [Select]
AT+CWJAP_DEF=<ssid>,<pwd>,[<bssid>][,<pci_en>]
 
The following users thanked this post: trazor, AaronR

Offline AaronR

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 37
  • Country: us
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #518 on: January 14, 2021, 07:38:34 am »
Thank you for the great info, I did see that earlier but lost track of your earlier post. I'm not really familiar with any of this but could I use putty to communicate directly usb serial converter to the WiFi card tx/rx ports?
 

Offline UniSoft

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 282
  • Country: kz
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #519 on: January 14, 2021, 08:11:12 am »
can the 6018 set 1mA steps?
cannot, due to hardware limitations.

I'm not really familiar with any of this but could I use putty to communicate directly usb serial converter to the WiFi card tx/rx ports?
Yes can use putty...
But what exactly you want to do?
When you configure WiFi using phone, WiFi module is already save AP SSID and password inside internal flash.
AT+CWJAP_DEF just will do the same, over AT command.

If I only had to do all of this once it would be no issue but the RD6018W doesn't remember any WiFi settings, they start from scratch on every start up.
RD6018 saves only server IP (SSID and password saved inside WiFi module during configuration and do not figure out during RD60xx<->WIFI module communication).
In you case, your PC probably get different dynamic IP, and therefore RD60xx cannot establish connection with your PC.
 

Offline bateau020

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 257
  • Country: fr
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #520 on: January 14, 2021, 08:25:40 am »
To resume:
if you want to control the WiFi module, several options exist:
1) Use the mobile app
2) Convince UniSoft to implement IP address setting and maybe also SSID/PW setting from the RD user interface. It can be done.
3) Program the ESP module yourself and put the RD in TTL mode, like is done at https://community.home-assistant.io/t/riden-rd6006-dc-power-supply-ha-support-wifi/163849 for example. Also see https://cuttlefishblacknet.wordpress.com/2020/03/01/riden-rd6006-wifi/
« Last Edit: January 14, 2021, 09:24:46 am by bateau020 »
 
The following users thanked this post: AaronR

Offline gamerpaddy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 43
  • Country: de
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #521 on: January 14, 2021, 10:23:18 am »
Thats a nice firmware, just flashed it into my 6012's

but how do i reset the Ah/Wh counters?

Thanks.

Offline Wanderling

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #522 on: January 14, 2021, 10:33:39 am »
I just updated to your latest firmware (RD60061_V1.32.13k.bin) and I noticed an issue with the set amperage vs the allowed amperage. Looks like you may have misplaced a decimal point somewhere in your code. Thanks!
« Last Edit: January 14, 2021, 10:37:54 am by Wanderling »
 

Offline UniSoft

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 282
  • Country: kz
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #523 on: January 14, 2021, 11:17:44 am »
I just updated to your latest firmware (RD60061_V1.32.13k.bin) and I noticed an issue with the set amperage vs the allowed amperage. Looks like you may have misplaced a decimal point somewhere in your code. Thanks!
What for you flashed firmware from RD6006 to RD6012? It will not work normal.
 
The following users thanked this post: Wanderling

Offline UniSoft

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 282
  • Country: kz
Re: RuiDeng Riden RD6006 DC power supply
« Reply #524 on: January 14, 2021, 11:30:32 am »
but how do i reset the Ah/Wh counters?
|MEM| + |Dot|

Shortcuts
|SHIFT| + |MEM|   - Set OPP
|SHIFT| + |UP|      - Current Session menu
|SHIFT| + |DOWN| - Quick Settings menu
|UP| \ |DOWN| - Status Info
|LEFT| \ |RIGHT| - Display Layout
|MEM| + |Dot| - Reset metrics (Ah/Wh/Time)
|Dot| - Activate screensaver
|Dot| + |Dot| - Mute

In graph mode
|SHIFT| + |PRESS-ENCODER| - Switch to Auto scalling
|SHIFT| + (|UP| or |DOWN|) - Reset offset Y
|ENTER| - Start/Stop
|MEM| + |ENTER| - Enter View mode
|PRESS-ENCODER| - Selects Parameter to scale in manual mode (|UP| / |DOWN| - change offset Y)


 
The following users thanked this post: gamerpaddy


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf