Author Topic: Analog Discovery 3 or budget bench setup  (Read 3112 times)

Offline Antonio90

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Analog Discovery 3 or budget bench setup
« Reply #50 on: June 20, 2024, 08:52:54 am »
DHO800 or SDS800X HD are actually off-topic in this thread.
The OP is talking about $250 for Scope with AWG + power supply OR AD3.
The devices mentioned cost double or triple that.

As I mentioned above, it's really about the question:
Benchtop scope with AWG + power supply OR AD3.

It is true that only the Hantek fits into this budget, but it is not really primarily about the manufacturer.

You may want something "better" than the Hantek at some point, but you may want a benchtop scope and a "real" power supply relatively soon after buying an AD3.
Nothing wrong with the AD3, that's just a guess on my part.  ;)

I have a rigol 1104z and an AD2. I'm still a student, but i do freelance repair and electronics design on the side. In my case, unless what i'm working on involves very low amplitude or frequencies above  20MHz, I use my AD2 most of the time, so even having a bench scope at hand, the AD2 sees more use in my bench. Of couse, everyone has different preferences when it comes to user interface or just the feel of turning the knobs/pushing the buttons in a standalone instrument, but when it comes to the capabilities of the instrument, the scope in particular, other than for those things i mentioned before (low amplitude, high frequency) what are really the downsides of the AD2? the only thing i can think of is the low waveform update rate, but even some instruments in the 2k$+ price range (tek series 2) exist with slow waveform update rate.

---End response to Aldo22