Author Topic: Best budget (under $100) clamp meter?  (Read 2876 times)

Offline sofakngTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Best budget (under $100) clamp meter?
« on: May 17, 2023, 12:38:40 am »
I'm a beginner electronics hobbyist but I like to invest in quality tools but so far I don't have a clamp meter.  I'm tempted to buy a used Fluke meter (like my used Fluke 87V DMM) but I think I will only need the clamp very, very rarely.

Usually I'm working with low-voltage and low-amperage DC current (ie. microcontrollers) but my latest project (LED strip lighting) has me interested in buying a clamp meter.

The UT210e seems quite popular but I'm wondering if that's still the recommendation?  (I dislike the display orientation but for how rarely I'll use it I don't think it will be a problem)

Is there something better for low-voltage/amperage applications?
« Last Edit: May 17, 2023, 12:40:57 am by sofakng »

Offline DaneLaw

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Best budget (under $100) clamp meter?
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2023, 03:29:22 am »
It depends on what ampere ranges you need, & if its AC or AC & DC.
You mentioned "DC" use-cases and sub 100US and UT210 is an old clamp meter, and it does perform quite well with small ampere, like 1mA , at least in my tests, though its hallsensor is obviously highly sensitive and in DC needs to be zero'ed frequently before use, and without hack its 2000count and sub 100A, and single line-display, though the display orientation, I dont see as a con, in some use cases I prefer it.

For higher ampere, I got a 1000A AC&DC jobby from a Chinese wholesaler / Banggoods EU-store, seems to be some rebranded HT208D-unit with the fabulous name "Habotest" (around 35 euro with incl.delivery & DK 25%VAT, its like the Kaiweets variant, just without the silicone probe leads and the reason for the lower price)