Author Topic: phase noise analyzer and phase noise measurement  (Read 46662 times)

Offline hpw

• Frequent Contributor
Re: phase noise analyzer and phase noise measurement
« Reply #25 on: December 17, 2023, 10:29:22 am »
I am new to phase noise measurement but bought a PN2060A to try it. Awesome device.

working on PN2060C/D. To quote, "Currently I am focused on the development of PN2060C/D. Hopefully, It can be finished within 1-1.5 months. For PN2060C/D, one is with 2 ADC chips, and the other one is with 4 ADC chips."

As PN2060C with now V1.1 PCB.

What I am missing:

-  the additional HW parts as required to start with a simple measurement, So to organize as DIY  :palm: At the end of this parts, measurement & validation could start but not before.

- The USB 3 connections are not isolated and draw high currents. No battery solution (galvanic isolation) seen so far.

- the real given required SW parts as still DIY and SW maintenance is unknown ??

- this means, this looks IMHO not a ready to go solution.

or I am wrong?

Hp

Offline sky2city

• Contributor
« Reply #26 on: January 07, 2024, 01:40:19 pm »
Hi all,
Does someone tested phase noise on 800MHz directly by PN2060C?
I want to by one, but I don’t know how the performance on 800MHz.  How much it will be about  performance degrade.

Thank a lot.

Offline jhenderson0107

• Regular Contributor
    • Elk Engineering
« Reply #27 on: January 07, 2024, 02:30:25 pm »
Based on the published specifications (https://qsl.net/bg6khc/pn2060c_phase_noise_analyzer.htm), direct phase noise measurements of the PN2060C are limited to <= 200 MHz.  To extend measurement range beyond 200 MHz, an external mixer and high-quality LO are required. 

The following users thanked this post: sky2city, drew23, citizenrich

Offline hpw

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #28 on: February 21, 2024, 09:38:19 am »
Anyone can share some test results?  :popcorn:

Best to ask the developer....