Author Topic: first time buyers oscilloscope analysis paralysis help!!!!!  (Read 15236 times)

Offline Fungus

• Super Contributor
Re: first time buyers oscilloscope analysis paralysis help!!!!!
« Reply #125 on: September 14, 2019, 03:09:14 pm »
From what I can tell, there is no "great, starter scope"  They all have their warts and blemishes.

Yep.

and (b) Expensive ones have warts, too...

I have a DS1104Z and it has done everything I've asked of it thus far.   Since I'm relatively new to their use (maybe 2 years) it has been a fine starter scope and I have nothing bad to say about it. 

Same here, but given the OP's original budget and "audio" needs I'd go for the GW-Instek instead. It's not much more than the Rigol.

My opinion?  Look at them and pick the one that fits your needs and be done with it.

Problem: Nobody knows their "needs".

Some specifications were given in the initial post but later we're told that he's looking for an "experience" similar to when he got his Fluke. Not gonna happen for $350...

I'd say the maximum "experience" will come from the Keysight so that's the one to go for. Maybe even the dark-color-scheme "G" version with wave generator for doing bode plots.

If he can afford a Fluke 87V, he can surely afford the Keysight. Spending more on your oscilloscope than your multimeter doesn't seem unreasonable to me.  :popcorn:
« Last Edit: September 14, 2019, 05:38:16 pm by Fungus »

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
« Reply #126 on: September 14, 2019, 04:50:10 pm »
Cost always seems to be the big issue followed shortly by warranty.  Guys, it doesn't matter!  Neither issue matters! 

Barring infant mortality, of course.  In the case of the older Rigol DS1054Z, this shouldn't be a problem.  I haven't read anything bad about the Siglent offerings either even though they are newer.  In any event, stay away from the bleeding edge and everything will work out fine.