Author Topic: Best DMM for bench DC work under 100$  (Read 11852 times)

Offline RifterTopic starter

• Contributor
Best DMM for bench DC work under 100$
« on: July 25, 2014, 12:09:08 am »
Looking to replace my aging Radio Shack DMM from 15 years ago, as its literally falling apart.

Im by no means an expert in any electronics related field nor do I have any official training but am a hobbyist with some knowledge of Integrated DC circuits, and have enough automotive electrical knowledge to wire a whole car from scratch and replace the entire electrical harness(have done that multiple times for off road vehicles upgrading wire and components to marine grade to eliminate corrosion for long term water exposure)

Now I do mostly bench work with DC circuits, LED's and Laser diodes, no mains work at all. Also will be used in automotive electrical repair. One of the main uses for my original DMM was checking SMT caps/resistors/components on boards to repair them(motherboards, video cards, computer networking equipment, TV's, microwaves, anything electrical that breaks my friends bring to me to repair)

Ability for precise readings on very low amperage and voltage and reading small caps being most important.

I have done some research but im finding my lack of general electrical knowledge is making it hard for me to understand the differences in some of these meters.

So was wondering if anyone could suggest a meter that would suit my needs?

Thanks you very much for your time I hope im not to much of a newb to get any help :)

• Contributor
Re: Best DMM for bench DC work under 100$
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2014, 01:47:45 am »
is the Extech 505 a good meter? It seems well armored to take some drops when using outside on vehicles.

Offline PedroDaGr8

• Super Contributor
  • A sociable geek chemist
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2014, 03:09:53 am »