Author Topic: MOT Power Supply  (Read 3166 times)

Offline dizzTopic starter

MOT Power Supply
« on: November 24, 2016, 07:33:45 pm »
Hello EEVblogers.  This is my first post here.  I'm somewhat new to the electronics hobby if you call it that.  I do work in a semi-related industry though as a cable splicer for ATT. 

I'm building a  Power Supply [Microwave Oven Transformer....... rewound].  I have rewound the Xformer to 12.5v  AC at the moment.  Now it's time for me to build the rest. 

Sure, there are a ton of guides on Youtube etc but I have a few questions that I'd like to direct to the vast knowledge base that floats around here.  The guide I plan to parallel is ...

The video's author being Aussy (I assume) he's in 220v land.  I'm US so I'm 120v.  This really should have zero bearing on the inner circuitry though -correct?  I mean once I've rewound my transformer to 120v : 30v, the rest of the video's circuits should work for me fine right?

Happy Thanksgiving!!

« Last Edit: November 24, 2016, 07:54:11 pm by dizz »

Offline joseph nicholas

• Frequent Contributor
Re: MOT Power Supply
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2016, 07:40:37 pm »
Very neat construction.  I have done this several times myself but not as neat.  When you power it up what is the voltage?  I assume you have a multimeter.

« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2016, 07:53:21 pm »
Right now it's 12.5.  Which is fine enough for a little power supply, but was considering  making that a center tap and adding a few more windings for the main variable part of the supply.

Offline joseph nicholas

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2016, 09:23:58 pm »