Author Topic: Help w/Thule Spirit hi fi amp repair please  (Read 2088 times)

Offline Martin BTopic starter

Help w/Thule Spirit hi fi amp repair please
« on: August 21, 2020, 12:50:44 pm »
Hi all! First post for me. Been watching Dave's vids for some years and browsed this forum occasionally. I'm not an engineer or electronics repair pro, my background is in hobby retro computer repairs and projects. Now I'm a bit out of my depth with my Thule Spirit IA150B stereo integrated hi fi amp that went boom the other day (literally boom like a movie explosion through the speakers) and then it behaved very strangely and i could hear a relay switching on/off rapidly, sounded like the standby switch relay. I was playing at low volume at the time.

Thinking the problem might be in the power amp section, I hooked the pre out connectors up to another power amp, and tested it. But after about 10 mins it happened again.

Thule are long gone, but I found the service manual (which I have attached to this post). Some of the electrolytic caps were bulging, so I replaced all of them. I also discovered that the circuit board has been burned to a crisp in the area around a set of voltage regulators (LM317LM and LM337LM, REG 1 and 2 on the schematic) where there are some very hot resistors that have been bodged in place, on the underside of the board, in parallel with the visible resistors (R336 and R371). These resistors are not visible on the attached pictures as they are on the underside of the board. Is it possible they were added during production due to lack of resistors of correct value? Could it be that those resistors have been heating the board for so long that the board has been slowly burned?

Anyway I changed all the SMD caps that looked zinged in the area and reattached the voltage regulators to their traces. Unfortunately, my repairs did not solve the problem, so after 10 minutes of use the amp still produces a loud boom and the relay goes nuts.