Author Topic: Yes.... Another Dummy Load  (Read 31733 times)

Offline wigman27Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
    • Wiggins Wonderful Websites
Yes.... Another Dummy Load
« on: August 26, 2013, 10:07:27 am »
Hey again,

Yes, it is another dummy load I am having an op amp issue and im not really sure whats causing it.

I am controlling this dummy load with a micro to give my constant current, power and resistance. I am controlling it with a 12 bit DAC using a 4.096V reference to give 1mA steps up to 4 Amps, I may choose to go to 8 Amps at lower voltages, I haven't fully decided yet. With that in mind I wanted to use a 0.1 Ohm load resistor to save heat at higher currents and losses at lower voltages.

This is my first attempt

U2 was to multiply the feedback voltage to U1 by 10 so 4.096V from the DAC would give me 4.096A still. However the circuit oscillated terribly, it worked perfectly fine during the initial testing but it started to oscillate for no apparent reason. Is it something to do with the two op amps like that? should I not do that? I intend on using the LM324 in the real circuit but the LM1014 was easier to model with.

I have fixed it in my second attempt, I have removed U2 and put a voltage divider from the DAC instead and it works really well.

I am just curious what the reason for the oscillation was?

Thanks

Lee
« Last Edit: August 28, 2013, 08:01:23 am by wigman27 »
Need a website designed? Check out my Australian based web development business www.wigweb.com.au for affordable fixed price packages

Offline Rerouter

• Super Contributor
  • Question Everything... Except This Statement
Re: Yes.... Another Dummy Load :-)
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2013, 11:04:47 am »
One day someone will search the forum before posting, today is not that day...