Author Topic: Professional Prototyping Hardware Defined (Breadboard, Jumpers, low R stuff)  (Read 6489 times)

Offline tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
In that context, I don't see any significant difference between experimenting and prototyping.
Then it’s been far too long since you were a beginner.

Not really. I've been a beginner since the 60s - because I am always doing new things that are outside my previous experience.

As for not all breadboards being equal... Agreed. The problems are identifying the better (not good) ones before purchasing them, and what happens if poor ones have been purchased (or become poor over time).
Well, it’s not hard to identify a good one: buy a 3M.

Wearing out is indeed the bigger challenge. Now, in my experience, even a fairly abused 3M still holds onto leads quite well. Others here on the forums have noted that they’re still using the same ones 30 years later.

I use a 40yo Tek 485, despite having more modern scopes. That doesn't mean I would recommend a beginner buys one!

Meanwhile, I’ve relegated most of the fleabay breadboards I originally bought to being little more than soldering jigs. Ain’t nobody got time fo’ 2 ohm contact resistance!

Often it is the varying resistance that causes "effects"!

P.S. I edited my post above after you responded to it, FYI.

Noted, understood, accepted. I've done similar things :)
There are lies, damned lies, statistics - and ADC/DAC specs.
Glider pilot's aphorism: "there is no substitute for span". Retort: "There is a substitute: skill+imagination. But you can buy span".
Having fun doing more, with less

Offline tooki

• Super Contributor