Author Topic: Making an LVDT  (Read 1818 times)

Offline MuffinsTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Making an LVDT
« on: June 16, 2024, 07:57:22 pm »
Hello all.

I have started a new project building an LVDT, drive circuit and sensing circuit.

At the moment I'm still in the early stages, I've got some components and a spool of 0.25mm magnet wire. I'm aiming for the stroke of the LVDT to be around 40mm with the movement being slow and without vibration.

I'm trying to decide on the driving circuitry but I am a little unsure of a suitable approach as I am not that experienced with analog circuits. From what I understand I should be putting a sine wave into the main coil with a frequency in the kilohertz range.

I've looked at some sine wave generation circuits, even making a wien bridge oscillator, but I'm not sure if sine wave generators based on op-amps will be able to provide enough energy to drive the coil. As I understand the sine wave should also have no dc components to avoid saturating the coil. Surely then something like a H-bridge would work quite well to produce an alternating current through the coil but the waveform with simple switching will be a square wave. I suppose with some PWM of the input to the H-bridge a sinusoidal average voltage could be made but would that be a good solution? I've seen the components of a DC square wave be filtered out to make a sine wave but that involves using a low pass filter, which I'm not sure would be suitable in this circuit.

What should I try next?

Online Doctorandus_P

• Super Contributor
Re: Making an LVDT
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2024, 08:49:41 pm »
Edit / oops. I mixed up LVDS with another inductive sensor type and that makes my post below mostly not relevant. Unless maybe, you may be interested in other inductive sensor types too...

The simplest is probably to build a free running LC oscillator, and then just measure the oscillation frequency.