Author Topic: LED drivers, How to connect them to Normal SPI  (Read 2451 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
LED drivers, How to connect them to Normal SPI
« on: August 06, 2019, 01:41:46 pm »
Hi,
There are lot's of cheep and good 16 channel LED drivers out there, Like MBI parts like MBI5043,MBI5045,MBI5030 etc... or from ST  something like STP1612PW05 or similar ones. all of them seems to have a industry standard footprint and the protocol seems the same, I have bring them up by bit banging to them and they worked as expected, the weird thing is the LE signal which has this Number of CLK
rising edge when LE is asserted do different things!  I wonder how to connect them to a normal SPI and could get the 30MHz SPI clock, do we have a trick? in this way we can achieve the maximum speed, also I prefer to use STM32 for these ones, so do we have something there to help?
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Online langwadt

• Super Contributor
Re: LED drivers, How to connect them to Normal SPI
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2019, 01:47:46 pm »
Hi,
There are lot's of cheep and good 16 channel LED drivers out there, Like MBI parts like MBI5043,MBI5045,MBI5030 etc... or from ST  something like STP1612PW05 or similar ones. all of them seems to have a industry standard footprint and the protocol seems the same, I have bring them up by bit banging to them and they worked as expected, the weird thing is the LE signal which has this Number of CLK
rising edge when LE is asserted do different things!  I wonder how to connect them to a normal SPI and could get the 30MHz SPI clock, do we have a trick? in this way we can achieve the maximum speed, also I prefer to use STM32 for these ones, so do we have something there to help?

switch between hw spi and bit banging depending on what you need to do ?

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2019, 02:07:28 pm »