Author Topic: Large flash chips are obtainable?  (Read 5671 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Large flash chips are obtainable?
« on: August 17, 2020, 07:53:30 am »
Hi,
I have some cool Ideas about making SSD's, I was searching and wonder if we can buy large flash chips from manufacturers,
I have Ideas about making a 1TB SSD, so I need 64 chips of 16GB each (Serial interface like QSPI or Hyper flash), what are our options? do you have any idea?
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Offline NiHaoMike

• Super Contributor
  • "Don't turn it on - Take it apart!"
    • Facebook Page
Re: Large flash chips are obtainable?
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2020, 12:42:16 pm »
The only source I can think of that would be cheaper than just buying a new SSD would be to buy "bricked" SSDs at scrap prices and salvaging the chips from them. (The early ones that were prone to bricking almost always did so due to firmware bugs.)
Cryptocurrency has taught me to love math and at the same time be baffled by it.

Cryptocurrency lesson 0: Altcoins and Bitcoin are not the same thing.

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2020, 01:16:16 pm »
So where do the SSD manufacturers buy the chips? any know brand?

Offline NiHaoMike

• Super Contributor
    • Facebook Page
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2020, 01:39:01 pm »
Some get deals buying in bulk, some manufacture their own chips.
Cryptocurrency has taught me to love math and at the same time be baffled by it.

Offline Maxoverdrive

• Contributor
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2020, 05:53:53 pm »
some chips are available only per quantity as 5000 units batches or more  , could be available from chips brokers in China , HK and other countries

• Super Contributor
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2020, 06:40:08 am »
Do we have part numbers?

Offline Berni

• Super Contributor
« Reply #6 on: August 18, 2020, 08:30:57 am »