Author Topic: class D amplifier  (Read 1509 times)

Offline Adgj533Topic starter

• Contributor
class D amplifier
« on: January 28, 2019, 10:05:01 pm »
Hello guys,
I want to build a class D amplifier at home. I am a hobbyist. I want the power output around 50W -100 W.
I got a schematic from AAC which is alittle complicated and honestly I dont understand it a lot.
I was wondering if you guys can provide a simpler schematic, anyone that have worked on it before. It must be working as an end product. I am planning to use it in my car.
Thanks

Offline nick_d

• Regular Contributor
Re: class D amplifier
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2019, 06:27:00 am »
I can help you with this, but let me first say that this is not a trivial project (I know this from experience having done exactly what you propose).

You have some decisions to make right off the bat.

1. Is the time of the output transition infinitely variable? If so, then what you're basically doing is comparing the audio with a triangle waveform and sending this comparator output to the high current output stage. If not, then you're updating the output at some fixed frequency (say 250 kHz) by sending it a bitstream (at say 250 kbits/sec), the bitstream being calculated by digital logic such as a sigma-delta modulator in an FPGA.