Author Topic: Ideas for CPLD based projects  (Read 8056 times)

Offline garvind25Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
Ideas for CPLD based projects
« on: July 29, 2017, 05:51:50 am »
Hi there,

I am new to CPLDs and FPGAs. I am looking for ideas to make a CPLD based project (HDL coding and PCB design). Can anyone suggest any project ideas pls?

Thanks,
Arvind Gupta

Online rstofer

• Super Contributor
Re: Ideas for CPLD based projects
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2017, 03:10:30 pm »
How about a tiny CPU?
https://www.bigmessowires.com/cpu-in-a-cpld/

CPLDs are rather limiting in that they don't have BlockRAM.  As a result, any CPU type project will require an external SRAM or EEPROM.  That's ok, it just requires more external chips.

OTOH, it is possible to find CPLDs in more user friendly packages that the typical BGA used by many FPGAs.

Just the other day, I was thinking about using a 5V CPLD to implement some glue logic.  I want to interface a Compact Flash device to an old S-100 bus.  Along the way, I need some memory overlay management and a bit of address decoding.  This is a perfect application for a CPLD.  Simple logic with a number of IOs.

Offline legacy

• Super Contributor
  • !
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2017, 03:34:01 pm »
Here I am planning to use a cpld as keyboard matrix-keys scanner.
Imagine you can find a good matrix-keys from a laptop's keyboard (done)
Imagine you can reverse the key-map (done)
Imagine contacts are friendly enough, and you can solder a connector (already done).

A cpld with 15+17 pins is perfect for the purpose.
And it just needs other 2 pins to implement a serial line.

Inside the cpld you need a simple fsm plus some decoders and encoders.
Nothing special, but the project is funny and useful.

(
edit:
yes, it's a part of a more complex project
)
« Last Edit: July 29, 2017, 03:46:53 pm by legacy »

Offline garvind25Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2017, 04:05:32 pm »
Hi,