Author Topic: Strange asymmetric nV noise of Keithley 148  (Read 3107 times)

Offline yusTopic starter

• Contributor
Strange asymmetric nV noise of Keithley 148
« on: May 15, 2023, 09:12:34 pm »
I recently bought a Keithley 418 with tube (not FET) input. I bought it out of pure curiosity, I do not need it for living.
I am a physicist by education (programmer by occupation) and I was curious if it can really measure voltages below 10nV.

On arrival I had to:
1) fix the power cable connection, fortunately I noticed an issue before a major AC 220V short arrived,
2) hack the chopper+demodulator oscillator : to be able to set the required 94Hz, I adjusted R320 to a slightly lower value*. The oscillator runs stably within specified +-0.1Hz instability,
3) hack the 94Hz amplifier-demodulator : to be able to set the required response time to about 0.25sec for 100nV step signal, I adjusted R169 to a slightly lower value*,
(*) adjusted to a slightly lower value = to be about 25% lower. This was a quick hack to verify if the instrument is doing something reasonable at all settings.
What good I have after the hacks above:
1) The calibration appears to be very close to the specs even on the lowest 10 nV scale.
2) 24 hour drift I estimate to be of about +-6nV max non cumulative (=around initial value at 0 time). It may probably be up to 2 times higher than a better new instrument or up to the specs, please see the picture of the expected long term drift from Keithley document The-measurement-of-nanovolts, attached pic 5. I do not want to actually run it for 24 hours due to the ugly annoying 2KHz noise of its power supply.