Author Topic: Please MS just go to hell...  (Read 39664 times)

Offline Raj

• Frequent Contributor
  • Self taught, experimenter, noob(ish)
Re: Please MS just go to hell...
« Reply #75 on: July 05, 2021, 08:20:52 am »

SSD drives are very tricky as long term storage and have lot of corner cases.

What's worse, is They aren't even marked clearly is they are SLC, DLC, TLC or QLC.

hi coppice..
i did not find it anywhere,it was just my computer that did not want to update
the cure was at new install of win 10
You want HEIC or HEVC Codec? there's a free for OEM version on windows store (anyone can get that BTW). It won't show up in windows store search though...only via links shared over the internet so google it.
« Last Edit: July 05, 2021, 08:25:36 am by Raj »

Offline bd139

• Super Contributor
« Reply #76 on: July 05, 2021, 09:39:37 am »
All the drives are MLC these days. Other than some enterprise cache drives.

The following users thanked this post: Raj

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
« Reply #77 on: July 05, 2021, 06:48:49 pm »
That "every second Windows" thing doesn't really hold up under closer scrutiny. Vista is not a bad OS, it just got a bad rap because the average PC was not powerful enough to run it properly at the time it was released.
Don't forget the UAC was the worst thing that had happened back then... But it was only due to the fact all application software treated the system critical areas as their own backyard and tried to crap all over - it seems the software houses tested only  with users with Administrative privileges. By the time 7 came along, much of that initial stupidity was properly handled.

I still have Vista in a few machines and it is quite alright.

Windows 2000 that came out prior to XP was very good, XP was a bit of a turd when first released but became very good after a few patches. Win8 had a solid framework but a terrible UI, Win10 improved the UI while trashing the framework with the stupid forced updates.