Author Topic: Changing files metadata in Android  (Read 5687 times)

Offline soldarTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Changing files metadata in Android
« on: November 13, 2019, 10:46:27 pm »
I am very new to Android and everything is a small battle.

So, I cannot choose what size photo the camera will take. It just takes huge photos, way bigger than I want or need. I was looking for a simple way to take smaller photos but no.

So, when I take photos, I get home, plug the phone into the computer, download the photos, resize them in the computer and upload them back to the phone. So far so good. Except that now the photo files have a modified date which is when I copied them to the phone and not when the photo was taken. The Gallery app shows the photos by file date modified. I do not want that.

In Windows I have an app that I can change the metadata, date created, modified, etc. How can I do this in Android? Or, how can I get the Gallery App to show the photos by EXIF date and not file date?
All my posts are made with 100% recycled electrons and bare traces of grey matter.

Offline Halcyon

• Global Moderator
Re: Changing files metadata in Android
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2019, 12:30:48 am »
Check the Camera settings, there is almost always an option to select photo resolution. I haven't seen an Android (yet) which doesn't have this option. For example, the native Camera application on my Samsung Galaxy S8 has the option of 4:3, 16:9, 18.5:9 or 1:1 aspect images with resolutions varying between 2160 x 1440 to 4032 x 3024. Some phones even allow resolutions down to 640 x 480.

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2019, 08:01:50 am »
Yes, I have looked into it but the minimum sizes are still too big.  I find it retarded that they would not give the user the option of smaller files and not using up so much storage space. I wish I could do it but it seems the camera app does not allow it.