Author Topic: Designing custom PCB for production  (Read 1149 times)

Offline bisketTopic starter

Designing custom PCB for production
« on: August 21, 2024, 02:05:58 am »
I have a programming background and have an idea I'd like to test out but I have zero knowledge in electrical engineering/PCB designs.

I'm hoping to create a custom PCB which has the following components/features in the most compact form as possible:
  • Microcontroller
  • 3-Axis Sensor
  • Temperature & Humidity Sensor
  • Bluetooth Low Energy
  • LIPO Battery
  • Wireless Charging

I've been testing few things using Arduino Nano 33 BLE sense but looking to build a custom PCB for production but not sure where to start. Hoping to get some guidance.

Is this something I can learn and do myself in a short timeframe (1-3 months). If so, can you recommend me some resources I can look into?

OR would it be better to hire a professional? If so, is there a place where I can find a reliable professional and how much time/cost would this job be?

Apologies in advance if any of this is silly question. I lack a lot in this field, hence this post for guidance.

Thank you!

Offline Kean

• Supporter
  • Embedded systems & IT consultant
    • Kean Electronics
Re: Designing custom PCB for production
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2024, 02:45:46 am »
Generally (in my experience) the major effort is in the software development and testing, but it sounds like you have that under control.

The schematic is probably not too difficult.  There are plenty of similar designs you can review from parts vendors, and probably something with nearly the exact same components.  Before copying too much from a published design, check the licensing of it.  IANAL, but if you redraw it in a slightly different style you are fine (similar to other artwork).