Author Topic: DEX eval by free_electron  (Read 337115 times)

Offline Iliya

• Frequent Contributor
  • !
Re: DEX eval by free_electron
« Reply #250 on: February 03, 2015, 09:00:14 pm »
Decided to have a go at manual routing the board.
Took less than 15 minutes and its single sided!
See attached.

Yes I know some of you will hate it, but I'm not a PCB designer yet I did it. DEX can't be that bad.
Will do a video of this to show you.
But its very, very low frequency.

Offline tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
« Reply #251 on: February 03, 2015, 09:36:17 pm »
Decided to have a go at manual routing the board.

Yes I know some of you will hate it
Not at all.
Much design and layout does not need to be concerned with signal speed.

ALL of the PCB's I have done have been Manually routed to finish.
Autoroute is VERY valuable to "test" layouts and component placement and I use it almost exclusively for that.
I don't care how much of a mess it might make of the "whole" PCB, it's an area of interest I'm focused on till it's right, then more to the next area/block and get that right....(IMO) and so on.
I might autoroute a single net or two, but thats all.

Watch for other feedback, you might find this is also many others MO.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist.
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos

Offline elgonzo

• Supporter
« Reply #252 on: February 03, 2015, 10:08:21 pm »
Will do a video of this to show you.
But its very, very low frequency.

When you do the video, perhaps flip R1 horizontally and route the trace from R2 to B1 above R2 (and not between R1 and R2). This will avoid those snaking traces around R1 and B1. You could also route the trace from U1 to DS1 in a different way to avoid it getting too close to a mounting hole (if mounting holes would be an actual concern).

Photoshopped example of the layout below.
« Last Edit: February 03, 2015, 10:28:33 pm by elgonzo »