Author Topic: Neighbours children driving me mad!  (Read 33134 times)

Offline Ampera

• Super Contributor
    • Ampera's Forums
Re: Neighbours children driving me mad!
« Reply #75 on: February 06, 2018, 11:30:37 pm »
Do you believe this active sound canceling device is as illustrated in the video?
https://www.extremetech.com/extreme/170649-sono-a-noise-cancelation-and-isolation-device-that-sticks-on-your-window

I am by no means an expert, so I am talking out of my ass here, but in my mind this doesn't sound impossible, just impractical.

Sound is just the vibration of air particulate in a certain position, I believe back and forth. You can capture sound through a microphone, and technically output the negative sound to that. The only issue is that this is all localized. The positions at where this would be effective would probably be very limited. Just move to another place in the room, and then the sources of the sounds are closer/farther, the intensities have changed, and the negative sound doesn't really cancel anymore, or at least not as well.

Then again, it could still do something, I don't know.
I forget who I am sometimes, but then I remember that it's probably not worth remembering.
EEVBlog IRC Admin - Join us on irc.austnet.org #eevblog

Offline Brumby

• Supporter
« Reply #76 on: February 07, 2018, 12:21:55 am »
Do you believe this active sound canceling device is as illustrated in the video?
https://www.extremetech.com/extreme/170649-sono-a-noise-cancelation-and-isolation-device-that-sticks-on-your-window

I don't think the concept is outside the realms of possibility.  The window pane acts as both the microphone diaphragm and the speaker "cone" - with some clever DSP controlling a mass driver.  As a concept in itself, the biggest question I would have is powering such a device.  I can't see a lot of energy getting transferred through WiFi.