Author Topic: crash course on fourier stuff  (Read 7151 times)

Offline SimonTopic starter

• Global Moderator
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
crash course on fourier stuff
« on: June 29, 2017, 08:19:18 pm »
I'm at that point in my course where I am studying Fourier, analysis, series and the other one and I'm still not sure what each is assuming they are different.

I have hundreds of pages of course material on the subject set in a highly mathematical way and no particular electronic bias (I gather Fourier is used just about everywhere and can therefore be described very abstractly which is particularly helpful if you don't want to write a module for each subject). I'm not really getting it but I'm quite aware that my course modules were not designed to make anything simple and looking further afield is encouraged.

Does anyone know of a book or online articles that take some of the pain out and manage to explain things in a structured way as opposed to pages and pages of maths that seems to go on with no overall plan other than making sure it gives you everything to pick the bones out of.

Offline f5r5e5d

• Frequent Contributor
Re: crash course on fourier stuff
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2017, 08:36:05 pm »
some like http://www.analog.com/media/en/technical-documentation/dsp-book/dsp_book_frontmat.pdf

This book was written for scientists and engineers in a wide variety of fields: physics,
bioengineering, geology, oceanography, mechanical and electrical engineering, to name
just a few. The goal is to present practical techniques while avoiding the barriers of
detailed mathematics and abstract theory. To achieve this goal, three strategies were
employed in writing this book:
First, the techniques are explained, not simply proven to be true through mathematical
derivations. While much of the mathematics is included, it is not used as the primary